Alabama VIN Search

Lookup Alabama VIN Number and get a Full VIN History Report

Alabama Vehicle Identification Number

To request a motor vehicle record in the state of Alabama you must fill out a specific form from the state, and mail it, along with a $15 money order to:
Alabama Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 327680
Montgomery, Alabama 36132-7680
A motor vehicle request in the state of Alabama can be conducted by the VIN number and the report includes:
  • The name and address of the owner;
  • The name and address of the lienholder;
  • The name and address of the registrant;
  • Title Information;
  • Vehicle Make/Model/Year
  • VIN; and
  • The date of the lien.
You can also get vehicle title information through the Alabama Vehicle Information Check System or run a title lookup at the official Alabama Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division (ADOR-MVD) website.
The ADOR-MVD website is a fee-based service which costs $95 annually for subscribers and is $6 per record for those who are not subscribers.
Some statistics from the ADOR-MVD website:
  • As of 2016, there were 2,284,403 cars registered in the state of Alabama;
  • In a 2016 Alabama Crash Report there were:
    • 155,907 traffic accidents with 47,653 cases of injuries and 1,089 resulting in fatalities;
    • The crash fatality rate in Alabama was higher than the national crash fatality rate (1.56 vs 1.15 per hundred million vehicle miles;)
    • 52.7% of the total crashes involved passenger cars;
    • In their lifetime, drivers in Alabama have more than a one-in-three chance of being in a car crash which results in injury or death.
    • According to a 2016 Crime in Alabama Report regarding Motor Vehicle Theft:
    • In 2016, there were 234.5 thefts for every 100,000 Alabama residents, and
    • On average, there were 31.2 cars stolen per day.
  • According to an NBC News report regarding natural disasters in Alabama:
    • Alabama ranks as the 7th most disaster-prone state. Between the years of 1953 and 2017 there were 79 major disaster declarations; and
    • The state is prone to tropical storms and hurricanes and much of the state is in the region of “tornado alley” that is known locally as “Dixie Alley.”

Why should you run an Alabama VIN Check?​

  • To check for accidents – around six million car accidents are reported annually by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration;
  • To check for title brands – flood, hail-damage, and salvage titles are examples of critical title brands to look for before you purchase a used car;
  • Look for used-cars that have had special-purpose designations – including taxi-use, rental-use, or police-use; and
  • To check and see if the vehicle has been stolen – the rates of stolen cars in Alabama in the year 2016 were 31.2 cars stolen per day. By running a VIN check you are ensuring that you are not purchasing a stolen car or a car with stolen parts.

Lemon Laws in Alabama​

Designed to protect consumers from falling victim to faulty vehicles and the financial burden that often accompanies car repairs, “lemon laws” were created to offer buyers a way to get a refund or a replacement if their motor vehicle is found to be defective. The laws designed to protect consumers from faulty vehicles, those who manufacturer such cars, and the financial burden that a faulty vehicle causes families.

The Lemon Law of Alabama can be found in the state’s vehicle code, Title 32 – MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC. In Alabama, lemon laws apply to self-propelled vehicles which were intended primarily for use upon the highways. It does not include motor homes or any other vehicles that weigh over 10,000 pounds.

The Lemon Law only applies to vehicles which are:

  • Two (2) years old or less (or has 24,000 miles or less);
  • It has had at least three (3) attempts to repair the problem by either the manufacturer, an agent for the manufacturer, or an authorized dealer for the same issue; and
  • Has been out of service for at least 30 days and in the possession of the manufacturer, an agent for the manufacturer, or an authorized dealer.

If your car is defined as a lemon under the Alabama law, the manufacturer of the car has two options of your choosing:

  1. They can replace your “lemon” car with a new comparable car; or
  2. They can refund your money, including the full price of the contract, sales tax, title and registration fees, and any finance charges that may have accrue while you owned the car.
You should keep all documentation and records to help prove your case and be aware that there is a three (3) year statute of limitations from the date of delivery of the vehicle.

If you contact the manufacturer and the case is rectified relatively easily you should still file a complaint with the Alabama’s Office of the Attorney General, which can be done online at the Attorney General’s website. You may decide to consult with an attorney. If you decide to do so you should hire one who in Alabama and has handled lemon law cases which are similar to your case.